It is the Mission of the Green Lake County Clerk's Office to provide courteous and prompt service to the public in all aspects of the duties given to the County Clerk through the Wisconsin State Statutes and the policies and ordinances set forth by the Green Lake County Board. As public servants, we will provide a welcome and pleasant environment to all customers seeking the services of this office.
- Serve as Chief Election Official for County
- Serve as Secretary to the County Board
- Issue marriage and DNR licenses
- Maintain Election and County Board Records
- Distribute Dog Licenses to Municipal Treasurers
- Publish the County Directory of Public Officials
The Green Lake County Clerk Office is an agent for the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources in issuing hunting and fishing licenses on the new Automated License Issuance System (ALIS)
Where to Apply:
County Clerk's Office between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.
Licenses may also be purchased at Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources Offices and many private businesses throughout the County.
- Verification of residence, which can be a valid Wisconsin driverís license, Wisconsin Department of Transportation identification card, or other acceptable documentation verifying name and address.
- Hunterís Safety Certification Card if born after 1/1/1973
- Knowledge of your social security number.
Once you have purchased a license under the ALIS system, an old license can be used instead of the above items as documentation.
Visit the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources for more information.
TO ALL GREEN LAKE COUNTY DOG OWNERS
Pursuant to Section 174.052 Wisconsin Statutes, notice is hereby given to all owners of dogs in Green Lake County that rabies vaccinations and dog license are required.
Vaccination of all dogs against rabies by a veterinarian is required under Section 95.21(2) within 30 days after the reaches four months of age, with re-vaccination within one year after the initial vaccination. Older vaccinated dogs must be re-vaccinated when the current certificate expires or within three years of the previous vaccination, whichever is earlier. Certificates of current vaccination must be presented when obtaining dog licenses.
The veterinarian who vaccinates a dog against rabies shall complete and issue to the owner a certificate of rabies vaccination and a rabies vaccination tag. The owner shall attach the rabies vaccination tag to a collar and a collar with the tag attached shall be kept on the dog at all times. Section 95.21(2)(f) Wisconsin Statues.
The owner of all dogs five months or older on January 1 of any year, or 5 months of age within the license year, shall annually, or on or before the date the dog becomes 5 months of age, obtain the required license. The owner shall securely attach the tag to a collar and a collar with the tag attached shall be kept on the dog for which the license is issued at all times. Section 174.07(e) Wisconsin Statues. The fee for neutered males or spayed females is $3.00 upon evidence attesting to the same. The fee is $8.00 for un-neutered males and un-spayed female dogs. Any person who keeps more than one dog may, instead of the license tax for each dog required by this chapter, apply for a multiple dog license Section 174.05(1) Wisconsin Statutes, for the keeping of the dogs. Multiple dog licenses are $35.00 for 12 or fewer dogs, with an additional $3.00 for each dog in excess of 12.
|EXCEPTION: TOWN OF BROOKLYN The fee for neutered males or spayed females is $10.00 upon evidence attesting to the same. The fee is $15.00 for un-neutered males and un-spayed female dogs. Any person who keeps more than one dog may, instead of the license tax for each do required by this chapter, apply for a multiple dog license Section 174.53(1) Wisconsin Statues, for the keeping of the dogs. Multiple dog licenses are $75.00 for 12 or fewer dogs, with an additional $10.00 for each dog in excess of 12.|
|EXCEPTION: CITY OF MARKESAN & CITY OF PRINCETON The fee for neutered males or spayed females is $5.00 upon evidence attesting to the same. The fee is $10.00 for un-neutered males and un-spayed female dogs. Any person who keeps more than one dog may, instead of the license tax for each dog required by this chapter, apply for a multiple dog license Section 174.53(1) Wisconsin Statues, for the keeping of the dogs. Multiple dog licenses are $35.00 for 12 or fewer dogs, with an additional $3.00 for each dog in excess of 12.|
|EXCEPTION: TOWN OF ST MARIE The fee for neutered males or spayed females is $6.00 upon evidence attesting to the same. The fee is $12.00 for un-neutered males and un-spayed female dogs. Any person who keeps more than one dog may, instead of the license tax for each dog required by this chapter, apply for a multiple dog license Section 174.53(1) Wisconsin Statues, for the keeping of the dogs. Multiple dog licenses are $45.00 for 12 or fewer dogs, with an additional $3.00 for each dog in excess of 12.|
PENALTIES: A late fee of $5.00 shall be assessed to the owner of each dog five months of age or older who fails to obtain a dog license by April 1 of each year, or within thirty days of acquiring ownership of a licensable dog or if the owner failed to obtain a license on or before the dog reached licensable age.
|EXCEPTION: CITY OF MARKESAN Late Fee is $15.|
An owner who fails to have a dog vaccinated against rabies as required by statute may be required to forfeit not less than $50.00 nor more than $100.00. This year's dog licenses may be obtained from your local treasurer at this time.
Green Lake County Board of Supervisors
Any person who has attained the age of 18 years may marry if otherwise competent. If a person is between the ages of 16 and 18 years, the license will be issued only with the written consent of parents, guardian or custodian. If parents are divorced, proof must be provided showing legal guardianship.
Persons closer in relationship than second cousin may not marry except if the female has attained the age of 55 years. (For exceptions call the County Clerk's Office.)
Application must be made in the county where one party has resided for at least 30 days. If both parties are residents of other states, application must be made in the county where the ceremony is to be held. If neither person has been a resident of any county for 30 days prior to application, they must also apply where they will be married.
Divorced persons may not remarry until 6 months after the granting of the Judgment of Divorce regardless of where the action took place.
Proof of Green Lake County residency for one of the applicants. At least two items must be provided:
- Driver's license or state ID card with current address
- Current utility bills
- Check book with current address
- Lease for apartment with current address
- Insurance papers with current address
All applicants must present a CERTIFIED COPY of a Birth Certificate obtained from the Register of Deeds Office in the county of birth or the State Registrar in the state of birth. If you were born in another state, please contact our office for the address and/or phone number of the State Registrar from your state of birth. Please write for birth certificates at least eight weeks prior to the marriage if you were born in another state. BAPTISMAL AND HOSPITAL certificates are not acceptable. Please check with the County Clerk's Office if you are not sure if your birth certificate is a certified copy.
SIGNED copies of judgment of divorce papers, legal annulment papers or certified copies of death certificates showing how your last marriage ended must be shown when applying for the license. Divorce papers or legal annulment papers must be signed by a judge or court commissioner.
Name of township, village or city and county where you presently reside.
Social Security number.
Name, address and phone number of the officiant.
Place of ceremony, including the city, village or township and county.
Date of marriage must be given when applying for the license.
Education: highest grade completed.
The COUPLE (1 male and 1 female) must come in together and sign when applying for their license.
A 5-day waiting period is required by law but may be waived for good cause by the County Clerk for an additional fee of $25.00. A waiver may be obtained by residents and nonresidents of Wisconsin.
The license is valid for 30 days after the date of issuance and the marriage must be performed within that period.
Any judge, ordained minister, priest or court commissioner may perform the ceremony.
$75.00 cash (subject to change). Credit and debit cards are not accepted.
BEFORE OBTAINING A MARRIAGE LICENSE IN OUR COUNTY, PLEASE CALL (920) 294-4005 FOR FURTHER INFORMATION. WE ARE AVAILABLE FOR INFORMATION FROM 8:00 A.M. UNTIL 4:30 P.M. MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY.
MARRIAGE LICENSES MAY BE OBTAINED BETWEEN THE HOURS OF 8:00 A.M. AND 4:00 P.M., MONDAY THROUGH FRIDAY. PLEASE ALLOW 20 TO 30 MINUTES WHEN APPLYING FOR YOUR LICENSE.
NOTE: It is the couple's responsibility to check with the Register of Deeds Office in the County in which you were married to make sure that the officiant filed your Marriage Certificate. The certificate is to be filed within three days of the ceremony. If the certificate is not filed, please contact the officiant immediately.
AFTER THE BIG DAY:
Change your name and/or address on your Social Security records. This can be done free of charge at your local Social Security Office after you are married.
- Change your name and/or address on your driver's license at the Motor Vehicle Department. This change should be made within 10 days of the marriage.
- Contact the Post Office to change your name and address. Also notify those people and businesses that send mail to you.
- Make the necessary name and address changes on your insurance papers and medical records, as well as on all other records and miscellaneous documents.
Learn about international travel and getting your U.S. Passport.